House Leaders Make Appointments to Keep Independent Ethics Board Running

by - January 17, 2013

House leaders on Wednesday made eight appointments to the board of the Office of Congressional Ethics, enabling the independent fact-finding agency to continue its work in the 113th Congress.

Former congressman and CIA director Porter J. Goss, R-Fla., and former Rep. David Skaggs, D-Colo., will return as co-chairmen. Returning board members and alternates are: former Reps. Yvonne Braithwaite Burke, D-Calif., Karan English, D-Ariz., and Bill Frenzel, R-Minn.; former House Chief Administration Officer Jay Eagen and former Federal Election Commission Chief of Staff Allison Hayward. Former Rep. Mike Barnes, D-Md., is the lone new member of the OCE board, replacing former Rep. Abner Mikva, D-Ill., who retired.

A recent rules change allowed four of the board members to return, replacing a provision that would have mandated the first turnover of half its members since the office was created by the House in 2008.

You May Love To Read